The Guild Awards

The Guild of Battlefield Guides has a number of annual awards for both members and the tour industry.

The Old Bill AwardThe Nathaniel Wade AwardThe Richard Holmes AwardThe Will Townend AwardThe David Chandler Award

The Old Bill Award

Award Holders

2020Andy Thompson
2021Terry Webb
2022John Hamill

Award Ethos

The Old Bill Award goes to the Guild Member who habitually displays, to the benefit of the Guild, Old Bill’s qualities of steadfastness and good humour, both in adversity and in times of good fortune.  The trophy was donated by Tonie and Valmai Holt.

Qualification Period

This is an annual award which, where possible, will be presented at the Guild Annual Conference and AGM – however, the award is not restricted to events or a contribution made in year. The recipient may be recognised for their contribution or achievements made over a number of years.

Qualification Criteria

The Old Bill Award is restricted to Guild Members. Any Guild Member may nominate a potential candidate to the Secretary for consideration by the Guild Management Board. Final selection of a recipient will be made by the Management Board.

Selection of Award Winner

The award recipient will be selected by a Board vote – the nominee with the most Board votes will receive the award.

Presentation of the Award

The Old Bill Award will be presented by the Chairman on behalf of the Membership at the Guild Annual Conference and AGM.