The Guild Awards

The Guild of Battlefield Guides has a number of annual awards for both members and the tour industry.

The Old Bill AwardThe Nathaniel Wade AwardThe Richard Holmes AwardThe Will Townend AwardThe David Chandler Award

The Will Townend Award

Award Holders

2011Bob Darby
2012Vern Littley
2013Jo Hook
2014Ed Church
2015Paul Oldfield
2016Brian Shaw
2017John Cotterill
2018Graeme Cooper
2019Not awarded
2020Ian Gumm
2021Chris John

The Will Townend Memorial Award commemorates the unselfish contribution made to the Guild by the late Will Townend. The trophy was donated by Will’s fellow battlefield guides at Anglia Tours.

Award Ethos

The award honours the memory of the late Will Townend, in particular his willingness to share his extensive technical knowledge of artillery and his wider knowledge of battlefields in general with his fellow battlefield guides.

It is also intended that those nominated for the award will be recognised as selfless members of the Guild who freely and unselfishly share their knowledge with their peers.

Qualification Period & Criteria

The Will Townend Award is an annual award presented retrospectively in recognition of conduct over the preceding year. This award is restricted to Guild Members. All categories of Guild Membership are eligible to be nominated for this award.

Voting Procedure

Prior to the Annual Conference and AGM, usually in the early Autumn, the Secretary will call upon the Membership to nominate for the Award. Nominations should be accompanied by the reason (or reasons) for nomination.

The winner of the Award will be decided by the Management Board, taking into account the number of nominations for each individual, as well as the reasons for nomination.

The numbers nominations made for individual nominees or in total will not be revealed.

Whenever practicable the award is to be presented at the Guild’s Annual Conference.